Home >  Eclipses > Solar Eclipses Drapeau LangueFrançais
Travel with Xavier M. Jubier : very limited space available
Eclipse Flight 2015
North Atlantic France Flag
Eclipse 2015
in Svalbard Norway Flag
Eclipse 2015
at the North Pole

Solar Eclipses

Solar X-rays Solar X-rays Status
Geomagnetic Field Solar Geomagnetic Field Status
Get the Latest SpaceWeather

Solar eclipses occur during the New Moon, when the Earth enters the penumbra and then possibly the umbra of the Moon. When the Earth only crosses the penumbra of the Moon, we have a partial eclipse of the Sun. When the Earth crosses the axis of the Moon’s umbra we have a central solar eclipse. There are two types of central eclipses: total, when the apparent diameter of the Moon is bigger than that of the Sun (the Sun is fully eclipsed), and annular when the apparent diameter of the Moon is smaller than that of the Sun. There is a special case where the apparent diameter of the Moon is smaller than that of the Sun at the beginning of the eclipse, then bigger (around the maximum) and then smaller again, the eclipse is then called a total-annular eclipse or hybrid eclipse as the one on April 8, 2005.
Those who were forunate enough to witness a total solar eclipse, in an unusual surroundings with clear sky, can testify of the outstanding beauty of such an event that also attracts celebrities. Chasing total solar eclipses is not only an addiction, but an affliction and a way of life that sometimes poses complex logistical, technical and financial problems. A total eclipse of the Sun occurs on average every 18 months (often in hardly reachable locations), but is only visible from a small band - the Path of Totality - and with an average duration of three minutes (maximum duration just over seven minutes). This is why observing such a glorious and majestic event must be well planned in advance as shown in those various scouting trips or airborne when required. You don’t want to find yourself in such inconvenient situation. Choosing your viewing location according to the phenomena you want to observe is equally important. Those who want to concentrate on observing the event visually can rely on Solar Eclipse Maestro to automatically take pictures for them.

You can use this solar eclipse calculator to compute the local circumstances of an eclipse, and the solar eclipse timer notifies the beginning of the various events. A time exposure calculator is there to help you choose your camera settings. You can also subscribe to a mailing list to stay posted.
The interactive Google maps or the Google Earth kmz files let you explore the path of totality and compute local circumstances of contemporary eclipses. Or explore the Five Millennium (-1999 to +3000) Canon of Solar Eclipses and its 11,898 eclipses to help you prepare your eclipse journeys or study historical events.

Mapping Tools & Next Eclipses • Interactive Google maps
• Google Earth kmz files
• Five Millennium Canon

• ASE 2014 April 29
• PSE 2014 October 23
• TSE 2015 March 20
• PSE 2015 September 13
• TSE 2016 March 9
• ASE 2016 September 1st
• ASE 2017 February 26
• TSE 2017 August 21
• PSE 2018 February 15
• PSE 2018 July 13
• PSE 2018 August 11
• PSE 2019 January 6
• TSE 2019 July 2
• ASE 2019 December 26
• ASE 2020 June 21
• TSE 2020 December 14
• ASE 2021 June 10
• TSE 2021 December 4
• HSE 2023 April 20


Total 1991 |  Total 1999 |  Total 2001 |  Annular 2001 |  Total 2002 |  Total 2003 |  Hybrid 2005 |  Annular 2005 |  Total 2006 |  Annular 2006 |  Annular 2008 |  Total 2008 |  Annular 2009 |  Total 2009 |  Annular 2010 |  Total 2010 |  Annular 2012 |  Total 2012 |  Annular 2013 |  Hybrid 2013 |  Annular 2014 |  Total 2015 |  Total 2016 |  Annular 2016 |  Annular 2017 |  Total 2017
TOTALITY! Magazine |  Solar Eclipse Maestro |  Digital Solar Eclipses Atlas
Total Solar Eclipse 1991 Total Solar Eclipse 1999 France Total Solar Eclipse 2001 Angola
Annular Solar Eclipse 2001 Costa Rica Total Solar Eclipse 2002 Australia Total Solar Eclipse 2003 Antarctica
Hybrid Solar Eclipse 2005 Polynesia Annular Solar Eclipse 2005 Libya Total Solar Eclipse 2006 Libya
Annular Solar Eclipse 2006 Kourou French Guiana Annular Solar Eclipse 2008 Mount Vinson Antarctica Total Solar Eclipse 2008 Russia Novosibirsk China Xinjiang Gansu
Annular Solar Eclipse 2009 USA Total Solar Eclipse 2009 Japan Annular Solar Eclipse 2010 Myanmar
Total Solar Eclipse 2010 Easter Island Chile Tuamotu French Polynesia Patagonia Argentina Annular Solar Eclipse 2012 USA Total Solar Eclipse 2012 Australia
Annular Solar Eclipse 2013 Australia Republic Kiribati Annular Solar Eclipse 2013 Flight Kenya Uganda Gabon Annular Solar Eclipse 2014 Antarctica
Total Solar Eclipse 2015 Svalbard Norway North Pole Total Solar Eclipse 2016 Indonesia Micronesia Annular Solar Eclipse 2016 Madagascar
Annular Solar Eclipse 2017 Argentina Google Earth Gallery


Solar Eclipses Map 2001-2020
2001 to 2020
Solar Eclipses Map


Total Solar Eclipse 2017 United States America
Solar Eclipses Map 1961-1980
1961 to 1980
Solar Eclipses Map


Solar Eclipses Map 1981-2000
1981 to 2000
Solar Eclipses Map


Solar Eclipses Map 2021-2040
2021 to 2040
Solar Eclipses Map


Solar Eclipses Map 2041-2060
2041 to 2060
Solar Eclipses Map


Solar Eclipses Map 2061-2080
2061 to 2080
Solar Eclipses Map


Solar Eclipses Map 2081-2100
2081 to 2100
Solar Eclipses Map


Total 1991 |  Total 1999 |  Total 2001 |  Annular 2001 |  Total 2002 |  Total 2003 |  Hybrid 2005 |  Annular 2005 |  Total 2006 |  Annular 2006 |  Annular 2008 |  Total 2008 |  Annular 2009 |  Total 2009 |  Annular 2010 |  Total 2010 |  Annular 2012 |  Total 2012 |  Annular 2013 |  Hybrid 2013 |  Annular 2014 |  Total 2015 |  Total 2016 |  Annular 2016 |  Annular 2017 |  Total 2017
TOTALITY! Magazine |  Solar Eclipse Maestro |  Digital Solar Eclipses Atlas

Scouting Trips & Eclipse Tours



Five Millennium Animated GIFs of Saros Cycles

View the 204 Saros GIF animations by Dan McGlaun
(adapted from Fred Espenak and Jean Meeus Five Millennium Canon)

Solar Eclipse Mailing List & Solar Eclipse Conferences and Workshops

If you want to keep in touch with everything to do with Solar Eclipses you should consider subscribing to the Solar Eclipse Mailing List (SEML).
To subscribe : send an E-mail to SEML-subscribe@yahoogroups.com


At the end of August 2007, the third Solar Eclipse Conference (SEC 2007) was held at the Griffith Observatory in Los Angeles, California, USA.
To get the proceedings DVD please send requests to .

At the beginning of January 2009, the Solar Eclipse Workshop (SEW 2009) was held at the Shankar Lal Concert Hall in New Delhi, India.

Mid-December 2011, the fourth Solar Eclipse Conference (SEC 2011) was held in New Delhi, India.

At the end of October 2014, the fifth Solar Eclipse Conference (SEC 2014) was held in Cloudcroft, New Mexico, USA.

The next Solar Eclipse Conference (SEC 2018) will be held at the end of July 2018 in Tenerife, Canary Islands (Spain).

The next Solar Eclipse Conference (SEC 202x) is likely to be held in 2022 at a yet undetermined location.
Three non-binding proposals have been made: Romania, Iran and India.


IAU International Astronomical Union   Membership number: 15159

Member of the Working Group on Solar Eclipses

TOTALITY!: the digital magazine for eclipse chasers

To sign up for a FREE subscription, please e-mail Larry A. Stevens at TOTALITYnewzine@aol.com.

  TOTALITY!: the digital magazine for eclipse chasers   TOTALITY! Newzine Issue 1   TOTALITY! Newzine Issue 2   TOTALITY! Newzine Issue 3   TOTALITY! Newzine Issue 4   TOTALITY! Newzine Issue 5   TOTALITY! Newzine Issue 6   TOTALITY! Newzine Issue 7   TOTALITY! Newzine Issue 8   TOTALITY! Newzine Issue 9
 
  TOTALITY! Newzine Issue 10   TOTALITY! Newzine Issue 11   TOTALITY! Newzine Issue 12   TOTALITY! Newzine Issue 13    

Software: Solar Eclipse Maestro

  Solar Eclipse Maestro Software Main Screen Preview

This application controls up to 4 USB, Firewire or Ethernet connected DSLR and CCD cameras during a solar eclipse, so that you can be free to concentrate on observing the event visually. This brief overview will let you know more.

Available for download

Requires: MacOS X 10.4.x (Tiger), 10.5.x (Leopard), 10.6.x (Snow Leopard), 10.7.x (Lion), 10.8.x (Mountain Lion) or 10.9.x (Mavericks)

Dashboard Widget: Solar Eclipse Calculator

  Solar Eclipse Calculator Dashboard Widget Main Screen Preview

This widget is used to compute the local circumstances of a solar eclipse from 1970 to 2099. It is localized in English, French and Chinese. This brief overview will let you know more and download it.

Requires: MacOS X 10.4.x (Tiger), 10.5.x (Leopard), 10.6.x (Snow Leopard), 10.7.x (Lion), 10.8.x (Mountain Lion) or 10.9.x (Mavericks)

Digital solar eclipses atlas

In the next couple of months, Michael Zeiler and myself are going to offer series of digital atlases for solar eclipses as applications for iOS (iPad, iPhone), Android and Amazon (Kindle Fire) tablets. The first atlas, to be released in October 2013, will study the 2013 November 3 hybrid.
The project has taken more time, which means the first digital atlas will contain solar and lunar eclipses from 2014 to 2018, to which we’ll add the 2016 Mercury transit.

AppStore Logo Android Play Logo

Choosing your viewing site

Outside of meteorological constraints, you may also like to observe particular phenomena occurring during an eclipse.

For example choosing a location close to a farm, will enable you to witness the eclipse effects on the animal life. Don’t forget to look also at the plants.

The main choice you have to make is to choose between a location near/on the centerline or close to the edges of the path.
Consider the most colorful part of the Sun’s atmosphere: the innermost part above the Sun’s visible disc, the chromosphere. On the eclipse center line, the chromosphere is visible only for a few seconds between the disappearance of the Sun’s visible disc and the moment when the chromosphere itself disappears behind the Moon. Only during those precious few seconds, you can get a flash spectrum. However, watching from near the edges of the path, the disc of the Moon slides by the disc of the Sun for a prolonged period and the chromosphere can remain visible for 90 seconds or more. Because of the chromosphere’s rich redness, eclipse photos taken from near the path edges have more color in them than do photos from the center line. It is not just the chromosphere view that is prolonged near the path edges. The mysterious and elusive "shadow bands" are far more likely to be seen from sites near the edges, and they usually last two to five times longer than on the center line. The diamond rings and Baily’s beads will usually last up to 10 times longer. Moreover, while just a few beads may form and stay in place for centerline viewers, edge viewers can see numerous beads form and dissolve constantly; they seem to travel along the limb as the two discs glide past one another. Finally, prominences can be seen for longer.
For most total solar eclipses, as one moves off the center line by as much as 20 percent of the distance to the edge, the average duration of totality drops merely 2 percent. The true duration of totality is governed by irregularities (mountains, craters, valleys) at the Moon’s limb, so the longest eclipse may occur almost anywhere within this central 20-percent zone. Precise positioning on the center line has no real value.
The best overall views of the eclipse and related phenomena are generally seen at 95 percent of the way to the edge of the path, where the duration of totality is one-third of the centerline duration.

Eye safety recommendations

Using the proper means to protect your eyes is explained shortly here.

Solar eclipses of historical interest

Since ancient times, people have viewed the moon completely blacking out the sun for mere minutes as omens that indicate an impending miracle, the wrath of God, or the doom of a ruling dynasty. Nowadays, physicists view solar eclipses as a triumph of science with the 1919 total for example. This new section will cover these solar eclipses.

Books


Last page update on May 18, 2013.
Site Map — Legal Mentions


Page Rank
Google


Guest Book Guest Book
Xavier M. Jubier



Skype Status

Accueil >  Eclipses > Eclipses de Soleil Language FlagEnglish
Voyagez avec Xavier M. Jubier : nombre très limité de places disponibles
Vol Éclipse 2015
Atlantique Nord Drapeau France
Éclipse 2015
au Svalbard Drapeau Norvège
Éclipse 2015
au Pôle Nord

Eclipses Solaires

Rayons X solaires Niveau Rayon X Soleil
Champ géomagnétique Niveau Champ Géomagnétique Soleil
Retrouvez les dernière prévisions

Les éclipses de Soleil se produisent à la Nouvelle Lune si la Terre passe dans les cônes de pénombre et ensuite éventuellement d’ombre de la Lune. Lorsque la Terre traverse uniquement la pénombre de la Lune alors il y a éclipse partielle du Soleil, mais lorsque la Terre croise l’axe du cône d’ombre de la Lune il y a éclipse centrale du Soleil. Deux types d’éclipses centrales existent: les totales lorsque le diamètre apparent de la Lune est plus grand que le diamètre apparent du Soleil (le Soleil est complètement éclipsé), et les éclipses annulaires lorsque le diamètre apparent de la Lune est plus petit que le diamètre apparent du Soleil. Il existe un cas limite lorsque le diamètre apparent de la Lune est inférieur au diamètre apparent du Soleil au début de l’éclipse, puis supérieur (autour du maximum) puis de nouveau inférieur au diamètre apparent du Soleil, dans ce cas l’éclipse est appelée éclipse totale-annulaire ou parfois éclipse de type mixte ou encore hybride comme celle du 8 avril 2005.
Ceux qui ont eu la chance de profiter d’une éclipse totale de Soleil, dans un environnement sortant de l’ordinaire et avec de plus une météo favorable, peuvent témoigner de l’extraordinaire beauté de ce type d’événement qui attire aussi les célébrités. Chasser les éclipses totales de Soleil n’est pas réellement une addiction, mais plutôt un style de vie qui peut parfois mener très loin et poser des problèmes complexes de logistique, techniques ou encore financiers. Une éclipse totale de Soleil se produit en moyenne tous les 18 mois (souvent dans des lieux inaccessibles), mais elle est très localisée dans une étroite bande - la bande de totalité - et d’une durée moyenne ne dépassant pas en général trois minutes (maximum possible juste au-dessus de sept minutes). C’est pourquoi il est nécessaire de préparer attentivement l’observation d’un événement si majestueux longtemps à l’avance comme le montrent ces différentes reconnaissances ou alors d’effectuer l’observation en vol quand cela est nécessaire. Vous ne voulez pas vous retrouver dans cette situation inconfortable. Le choix du lieu d’observation est aussi déterminant pour les phénomènes que vous souhaitez observer. Ceux qui préfèrent profiter du spectacle visuel peuvent utiliser Solar Eclipse Maestro pour prendre des photos automatiquement.

Vous pouvez calculer les circonstances locales d’une éclipse à l’aide de cette calculatrice solaire, et un minuteur solaire vous prévient du début des différentes phases. Avec la calculatrice pour les temps de pose vous pouvez aussi régler vos équipements photographiques. Il existe aussi des listes de distribution pour vous tenir informé.
Les cartes interactives Google ou les fichiers kmz Google Earth vous permettent d’explorer la bande de totalité et de calculer les circonstances locales des éclipses contemporaines. Ou encore explorez le Catalogue de Cinq Millénaires (-1999 à +3000) d’Eclipses de Soleil et ses 11.898 éclipses pour vous aider à préparer vos voyages «éclipse» ou étudier des événements historiques.

Cartographie & Prochaines Eclipses • Cartes interactives Google
• Fichiers kmz Google Earth
• Catalogue sur Cinq Millénaires

• Annulaire du 29 avril 2014
• Partielle du 23 octobre 2014
• Totale du 20 mars 2015
• Partielle du 13 septembre 2015
• Totale des 8-9 mars 2016
• Annulaire du 1er septembre 2016
• Annulaire du 26 février 2017
• Totale du 21 août 2017
• Partielle du 15 février 2018
• Partielle du 13 juillet 2018
• Partielle du 11 août 2018
• Partielle du 6 janvier 2019
• Totale du 2 juillet 2019
• Annulaire du 26 décembre 2019
• Annulaire du 21 juin 2020
• Totale du 14 décembre 2020
• Annulaire du 10 juin 2021
• Totale du 4 décembre 2021
• Hybride du 20 avril 2023


Totale 1991 |  Totale 1999 |  Totale 2001 |  Annulaire 2001 |  Totale 2002 |  Totale 2003 |  Hybride 2005 |  Annulaire 2005 |  Totale 2006 |  Annulaire 2006 |  Annulaire 2008 |  Totale 2008 |  Annulaire 2009 |  Totale 2009 |  Annulaire 2010 |  Totale 2010 |  Annulaire 2012 |  Totale 2012 |  Annulaire 2013 |  Hybride 2013 |  Annulaire 2014 |  Totale 2015 |  Totale 2016 |  Annulaire 2016 |  Annulaire 2017 |  Totale 2017 |  Totale 2019 |  Annulaire 2019 |  Annulaire 2020 |  Totale 2020 |  Annulaire 2021 |  Totale 2021 |  Hybride 2023 |  Annulaire 2023 |  Totale 2024 |  Annulaire 2024 |  Annulaire 2026 |  Totale 2026 |  Annulaire 2027 |  Totale 2027 |  Annulaire 2028 |  Totale 2028 |  Annulaire 2030 |  Totale 2030
Magazine TOTALITY! |  Solar Eclipse Maestro |  Atlas Numérique Eclipses de Soleil
Eclipse Totale Soleil 1991 Eclipse Totale Soleil 1999 France Eclipse Totale Soleil 2001 Angola
Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2001 Costa Rica Eclipse Totale Soleil 2002 Australie Eclipse Totale Soleil 2003 Antarctique
Eclipse Hybride Soleil 2005 Polynésie Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2005 Libye Eclipse Totale Soleil 2006 Libye
Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2006 Kourou Guyane Française Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2008 Vinson Antarctique Eclipse Totale Soleil 2008 Russie Novossibrisk Chine Xinjiang Gansu
Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2009 Indonésie Galerie Google Earth


Carte Eclipses Soleil 2001-2020
Carte des éclipses de Soleil
2001 à 2020


Eclipse Totale Soleil 2009 Japon
Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2010 Myanmar Eclipse Totale Soleil 2010 Ile Pâques Tuamotu Chili Polynésie Française Patagonie Argentine Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2012 États-Unis
Eclipse Totale Soleil 2012 Australie Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2013 Australie République Kiribati Eclipse Hybride Soleil 2013 Vol Eclipse Bermudes Kenya Ouganda Gabon
Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2014 Antarctique Eclipse Totale Soleil 2015 Svalbard Norvège Pôle Nord Eclipse Totale Soleil 2016 Indonésie Micronésie
Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2016 Madagascar Tanzanie La Réunion Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2017 Argentine Angola Eclipse Totale Soleil 2017 États-Unis Amérique
Eclipse Totale Soleil 2019 Océan Pacifique Sud Chili Argentine Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2019 Arabie Saoudite Oman Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2020 Oman Inde Chine Tibet
Eclipse Totale Soleil 2020 Argentine Chili Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2021 Canada Russie Ontario Sibérie Eclipse Totale Soleil 2021 Antarctique
Eclipse Totale Soleil 2023 Australie Timor Oriental Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2023 Mexique États-Unis Amérique Eclipse Totale Soleil 2024 Mexique États-Unis Amérique
Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2024 Chili Île Pâques Argentine Patagonie Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2026 Antarctique Eclipse Totale Soleil 2026 Espagne
Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2027 Argentine Chili Eclipse Totale Soleil 2027 Egypte Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2028 Equateur Galapagos
Eclipse Totale Soleil 2028 Australie Eclipse Annulaire Soleil 2030 Tunisie Eclipse Totale Soleil 2030 Namibie
Carte Eclipses Soleil 1961-1980
Carte des éclipses de Soleil
1961 à 1980


Carte Eclipses Soleil 1981-2000
Carte des éclipses de Soleil
1981 à 2000


Carte Eclipses Soleil 2021-2040
Carte des éclipses de Soleil
2021 à 2040


Carte Eclipses Soleil 2041-2060
Carte des éclipses de Soleil
2041 à 2060


Carte Eclipses Soleil 2061-2080
Carte des éclipses de Soleil
2061 à 2080


Carte Eclipses Soleil 2081-2100
Carte des éclipses de Soleil
2081 à 2100


Totale 1991 |  Totale 1999 |  Totale 2001 |  Annulaire 2001 |  Totale 2002 |  Totale 2003 |  Hybride 2005 |  Annulaire 2005 |  Totale 2006 |  Annulaire 2006 |  Annulaire 2008 |  Totale 2008 |  Annulaire 2009 |  Totale 2009 |  Annulaire 2010 |  Totale 2010 |  Annulaire 2012 |  Totale 2012 |  Annulaire 2013 |  Hybride 2013 |  Annulaire 2014 |  Totale 2015 |  Totale 2016 |  Annulaire 2016 |  Annulaire 2017 |  Totale 2017 |  Totale 2019 |  Annulaire 2019 |  Annulaire 2020 |  Totale 2020 |  Annulaire 2021 |  Totale 2021 |  Hybride 2023 |  Annulaire 2023 |  Totale 2024 |  Annulaire 2024 |  Annulaire 2026 |  Totale 2026 |  Annulaire 2027 |  Totale 2027 |  Annulaire 2028 |  Totale 2028 |  Annulaire 2030 |  Totale 2030
Magazine TOTALITY! |  Solar Eclipse Maestro |  Atlas Numérique Eclipses de Soleil

Reconnaissances et Voyages



GIF Animées des Saros durant Cinq Millénaires


Visualisez les GIF animées de 204 Saros par Dan McGlaun
(d’après données de Fred Espenak et Jean Meeus dans leur Catalogue sur Cinq Millénaires)

Listes de Distribution sur les Eclipses de Soleil et Conférences ou Séminaires sur les Eclipses de Soleil

Si vous voulez vous tenir informé de tout ce qui a un rapport avec les éclipses de soleil, vous devriez vous abonner aux deux listes de distribution suivantes : la première anglophone, Solar Eclipse Mailing List (SEML) et la seconde francophone, Chasseurs-Eclipses (CELD).
Inscriptions : envoyer un courriel à SEML-subscribe@yahoogroups.com pour la liste anglophone et à chasseurs-eclipses-subscribe@yahoogroupes.fr pour la liste francophone


Fin août 2007, la troisième Conférence sur les Eclipses de Soleil (SEC 2007) a eu lieu à l’Observatoire Griffith de Los Angeles, Californie, aux États-Unis.
Merci de contacter, en anglais, pour vous procurer le DVD contenant les présentations de la conférence.

Début janvier 2009, la Conférence et Séminaires sur les Eclipses de Soleil (SEW 2009) ont eu lieu à l’Auditorium Shankar Lal de New Delhi en Inde.

Mi-décembre 2011, la quatrième Conférence sur les Eclipses de Soleil (SEC 2011) s’est déroulée à New Delhi en Inde.

Fin octobre 2014, la cinquième Conférence sur les Eclipses de Soleil (SEC 2014) s’est déroulée à Cloudcroft, Nouveau Mexique, aux États-Unis.

La prochaine Conférence sur les Eclipses de Soleil (SEC 2018) aura lieu fin juillet 2018 à Tenerife aux Îles Canaries (Espagne).

La Conférence sur les Eclipses de Soleil (SEC 202x) suivante sera probablement organisée en 2022 dans un lieu encore indéterminé.
Trois propositions formelles ou informelles existent: Roumanie, Iran et Inde.


UAI Union Astronomique Internationale   Numéro de membre: 15159

Membre du Working Group on Solar Eclipses

TOTALITY!: le journal numérique pour chasseurs d’éclipses

Pour recevoir gratuitement cette publication (en anglais), merci d’envoyer un courriel à Larry A. Stevens à TOTALITYnewzine@aol.com.

  TOTALITY!: le journal numérique pour chasseurs d’éclipses   TOTALITY! Newzine Numéro 1   TOTALITY! Newzine Numéro 2   TOTALITY! Newzine Numéro 3   TOTALITY! Newzine Numéro 4   TOTALITY! Newzine Numéro 5   TOTALITY! Newzine Numéro 6   TOTALITY! Newzine Numéro 7   TOTALITY! Newzine Numéro 8   TOTALITY! Newzine Numéro 9
 
  TOTALITY! Newzine Numéro 10   TOTALITY! Newzine Numéro 11   TOTALITY! Newzine Numéro 12   TOTALITY! Newzine Numéro 13   TOTALITY! Newzine Numéro 14    

Logiciel: Solar Eclipse Maestro

  Prévisualisation Ecran Principal Logiciel Solar Eclipse Maestro

Ce logiciel permet de contrôler jusqu’à 4 appareils photographiques numériques et caméras CCD à travers une connexion USB, Firewire ou Ethernet durant une éclipse de Soleil afin de pouvoir l’observer librement. Cette présentation succinte vous permettra d’en savoir un peu plus.

Disponible au téléchargement

Prérequis: MacOS X 10.4.x (Tiger), 10.5.x (Leopard), 10.6.x (Snow Leopard), 10.7.x (Lion), 10.8.x (Mountain Lion), 10.9.x (Mavericks), 10.10.x (Yosemite), 10.11.x (El Capitan) ou 10.12.x (Sierra)

Widget Dashboard: Calculatrice Eclipse Solaire

  Prévisualisation Ecran Principal Widget Dashboard Calculatrice Eclipse Solaire

Ce gadget permet de calculer les circonstances locales de toutes les éclipses de Soleil de 1970 à 2099. Il est localisé en Français, en Anglais et en Chinois. Cette présentation succinte vous permettra d’en savoir un peu plus et de le télécharger.

Prérequis: MacOS X 10.4.x (Tiger), 10.5.x (Leopard), 10.6.x (Snow Leopard), 10.7.x (Lion), 10.8.x (Mountain Lion), 10.9.x (Mavericks), 10.10.x (Yosemite), 10.11.x (El Capitan) ou 10.12.x (Sierra)

Atlas numérique pour éclipses de soleil

Dans les mois qui viennent, Michael Zeiler et moi-même allons proposer au téléchargement une série d’atlas numériques pour les éclipses de Soleil sous forme d’applications pour les tablettes iOS (iPad, iPhone), Android et Amazon (Kindle Fire). Le premier atlas concernera seulement l’éclipse hybride du 3 novembre 2013 et devrait être disponible courant octobre 2013.
Un peu de retard a été pris et le premier atlas numérique devrait contenir les éclipses de Soleil et de Lune de 2014 à 2018, mais aussi le passage de Mercure de 2016.

Logo AppStore Logo Android Play

Choix du lieu d’observation

En dehors des contraintes météoroloqiques, vous pouvez aussi chercher à observer certains phénomènes particuliers se produisant lors d’une éclipse.

Choisir une lieu à proximité d’une ferme, vous permettra par exemple de voir l’influence d’une éclipse sur la vie animale. Observez aussi les effets sur les plantes.

Le choix principal à effectuer est de savoir si l’on préfère observer depuis un lieu proche de la ligne centrale ou alors à proximité des bords du tracé de l’éclipse.
Si vous souhaitez observer la chromosphère, la partie de l’atmosphère solaire la plus colorée, alors un site d’observation sur la ligne centrale n’est pas recommandé car la chromosphère ne sera visible que pendant quelques secondes durant lesquelles vous pourrez obtenir son spectre. Toutefois, si vous observez à proximité des bords du tracé de l’éclipse, alors le disque lunaire glisse sur le bord du disque solaire durant un temps prolongé et la chromosphère reste visible pendant 90 secondes ou plus. Du fait de sa grande rougeur, les photons récupétés depuis les bords du tracé sont plus colorés que ceux depuis la ligne centrale. Mais il n’y a pas que la vue de la chromosphère qui est améliorée près des bords du tracé de l’éclipse. Les mystérieuses et fuyantes «ombres volantes» ont beaucoup plus de chances d’être observées, et elles durent généralement deux à cinq fois plus longtemps que sur la ligne centrale. Les anneaux de diamant et les grains de Baily durent aussi généralement jusqu’à 10 fois plus longtemps. De plus, quand seuls quelques grains apparaissent aux observateurs sur la ligne centrale, ceux sur les bords du tracé de l’éclipse peuvent en observer de nombreux qui se forment et disparaissent constamment comme si ils voyageaient le long du limbe lunaire. Enfin les protubérances peuvent aussi être observées plus longtemps.
Pour la plupart des éclipses totales de soleil, quand vous vous écartez de la ligne centrale jusqu’à 20 pour cent de la demi-largeur de la bande de totalité, la durée moyenne de la totalité ne diminue seulement que de 2 pour cent. La véritable durée de la totalité dépend des irrégularités du limbe lunaire (montagnes, cratères, vallées), ce qui fait que le lieu de plus longue éclipse peut se trouver presque n’importe où dans cette bande centrale des 20%. Le positionnement sur la ligne centrale n’est pas significatif.
Les meilleures vues d’une éclipse et de ses phénomènes rattachés sont généralement obtenues à 5% du bord de la bande de totalité, là où la durée de la totalité est un tiers de celle sur la ligne centrale.

Conseils de protection des yeux

L’utilisation de moyen de protection des yeux est expliqué brièvement ici.

Eclipses solaires présentant un intérêt historique

Depuis les temps anciens, l’humanité percevait les quelques minutes d’obscuration complète du Soleil par la Lune comme le signe annonciateur d’un miracle imminent, de la colère de Dieu, ou encore de la fin d’une dynastie régnante. De nos jours, les physiciens voient les éclipses de Soleil comme une conquête de la science avec par exemple la totale de 1919. Cette nouvelle section traitera de toutes ces éclipses de Soleil.

Livres


Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 18 mai 2013.
Plan du Site — Mentions Légales


Page Rank
Google


Livre Or Livre d’Or
Xavier M. Jubier