Home >  Eclipses >  Solar Eclipses > Total Solar Eclipse of 2017 August 21 Drapeau LangueFrançais
United States America Flag 

Total Solar Eclipse of 2017 August 21
in the United States of America or airborne

#eclipse2017, #tse2017, #2017eclipse
 Great American Eclipse Logo

The point of greatest eclipse (totality phase during 2 min 40 sec) lies in Kentucky. However the point of longest duration with 2 min 41.6 sec is located in southern Illinois. Although there is not any material difference between points of greatest eclipse, maximum eclipse, and corrected longest eclipse, local boosterism will likely be intense with claims and counter-claims about the best location. More importantly, people have to understand and adopt a strategy for eclipse success factoring weather, mobility, etc. These points of longest eclipse are almost meaningless in that context, nevertheless I can envision people crowding on a farm at the cloudy point of longest duration refusing to budge even if clear skies are reachable. The eclipse whose path crosses 14 states —not just the 12 or 13 only that many wrongly advertize—, one of them, Montana, very slightly in a mountainous area so that nobody staying in this state is likely to witness the unimaginable beauty of totality, will likely create a new "Generation Eclipse" much like the March 1970 did.
Oregon Flag Idaho Flag Montana Flag Wyoming Flag Nebraska Flag Kansas Flag Iowa Flag Missouri Flag Illinois Flag Kentucky Flag Tennessee Flag Georgia Flag North Carolina Flag South Carolina Flag
Seeing the eclipse from the ground in its surrounding natural environment is the way to go and get the full experience, particularly if it’s from your home country. However for those willing to have a slightly different experience, I’ll propose one eclipse flight over the Northern Pacific Ocean (one special flight in a brand new Falcon 5X with a zenithal window was another possibility, but the certification of the aircraft has been delayed). It’s unlikely that I will offer any ground tour for a group as organizing one on an individual basis is straightforward. Moreover I’ll also have to take care of some complex scientific measurements with huge constraints.

More comprehensive information and useful eclipse goodies can be found on the Great American Eclipse website maintained by my friend Michael Zeiler. The maps have been created using the data computed by my Solar Eclipse Maestro software. Please take also a moment to read those comprehensive instructions on how to observe the eclipse safely.

You can use this solar eclipse calculator to compute the local circumstances of the eclipse, and the solar eclipse timer notifies the beginning of the various events. A time exposure calculator is there to help you choose your camera settings.


Click on thumbnails for a larger version

 
Page "Introduction" |  Page "Where to Go" |  Page "Unequivocal Totality" |  This is page "Eclipse" |  Page "Google Map" |  Page "Weather" |  Page "Totality Duration" |  Page "Fact-checking"
Viewing Sites —>  Oregon |  Idaho |  Wyoming |  Nebraska |  Illinois |  Other States |  Eclipse Flights
An eclipse flight is an experience of its own kind. When it happens into the stratosphere aboard a private jet, as on 2015 March 20th, then it’s even more special.
Total Solar Eclipse 2015 Stratospheric Flight Totality Dassault Falcon 7X Cockpit Moon Umbra Wing View

The following video can show you what to expect from your special flight experience that I could organize off the West Coast to have a solar elevation compatible with an observation through the aircraft’s windows.

Video by Mike Kentrianakis on 2016 March 8th AS870 flight (details in the Alaska Airlines blog)

Multiple eclipse flights will occur on 2017 August 21st, one of them having zenithal windows for scientific purposes will increase the maximum duration by 60%. Other than specially modified aircrafts, only one private jet model can achieve such an observation thanks to its unique zenithal window: the brand new Dassault Falcon 5X. Due to the high solar elevation when the Moon’s umbral shadow crosses the continental USA, regular commercial jets will need to intercept the path either at sea off the West Coast or else Northeast of the French Antilles.

Simulation of an eclipse flight at maximum totality duration (created with my Solar Eclipse Maestro software)
Use of this simulation is strictly forbidden without my written approval. All commercial uses are subject to a fee for every planned flight.

Viewing Sites —>  Oregon |  Idaho |  Wyoming |  Nebraska |  Illinois |  Other States |  Eclipse Flights
Page "Introduction" |  Page "Where to Go" |  Page "Unequivocal Totality" |  This is page "Eclipse" |  Page "Google Map" |  Page "Weather" |  Page "Totality Duration" |  Page "Fact-checking"

Last page update on July 20, 2010.
Site Map — Legal Mentions


Page Rank
Google


Guest Book Guest Book
Xavier M. Jubier

Accueil >  Eclipses >  Eclipses de Soleil > Eclipse totale de Soleil du 21 août 2017 Language FlagEnglish
Drapeau États-Unis Amérique 

Eclipse totale de Soleil du 21 août 2017
aux États-Unis d’Amérique ou en vol

#eclipse2017, #tse2017, #2017eclipse
 Logo Great American Eclipse

Le point central de cette éclipse (phase de totalité pendant 2 min 40 sec) se trouve au Kentucky. Toutefois le point de plus longue éclipse avec 2 min 41,6 sec se situe dans le sud de l’Illinois. Même si il n’y a pas de réelle différence entre les lieux de plus grande éclipse et de plus longue durée, le chauvinisme local sera certainement intense avec des revendications et contre-revendications sur le meilleur emplacement. Toutefois le public doit comprendre qu’il vaut mieux adopter une stratégie intégrant le facteur météorologique et la mobilité comme seules garanties de succès. Ces points de plus longue éclipse sont presque dénués de sens dans ce contexte, mais néanmoins je peux imaginer que des gens se presseront sur une ferme au point de plus longue éclipse refusant même de bouger si le ciel est nuageux alors même qu’un ciel dégagé est accessible. La bande de totalité traverse 14 états —et non seulement 12 ou 13 comme beaucoup l’affirment à tort—, mais pour le Montana seulement sur une infime partie montagneuse ce qui me fait dire qu’aucun observateur situé dans cet état ne pourra observer la beauté inimaginable de la totalité. A n’en pas douter cette éclipse va créer une nouvelle «Génération Eclipse» après celle de mars 1970.
Drapeau Oregon Drapeau Idaho Drapeau Montana Drapeau Wyoming Drapeau Nebraska Drapeau Kansas Drapeau Iowa Drapeau Missouri Drapeau Illinois Drapeau Kentucky Drapeau Tennessee Drapeau Georgie Drapeau Caroline Nord Drapeau Caroline Sud
Observer l’éclipse depuis le sol dans son environnement naturel est la meilleure option pour profiter pleinement de ce spectacle unique, particulièrement si cela se fait depuis votre propre pays. Toutefois pour ceux qui souhaitent avoir une expérience un peu différente, je proposerais un vol éclipse au-dessus de l’Océan Pacifique Nord (un vol spécial avec le tout nouveau Falcon 5X et son hublot zénital était une autre possibilité, mais sa certification a malheureusement été décalée). Je n’offrirais probablement pas de voyage terrestre pour un groupe car il est très facile de l’organiser en individuel. De plus je suis aussi en charge de mesures scientifiques complexes et à fortes contraintes.

De plus amples informations ainsi que des accessoires utiles pour l’éclipse sont disponibles sur le site Great American Eclipse maintenu par mon ami américain Michael Zeiler. Les cartes ont été établies avec l’aide des données calculées par mon logiciel Solar Eclipse Maestro.

Vous pouvez calculer les circonstances locales d’une éclipse à l’aide de cette calculatrice solaire, et un minuteur solaire vous prévient du début des différentes phases. Avec la calculatrice pour les temps de pose vous pouvez aussi régler vos équipements photographiques.


Cliquez sur les vignettes pour visualiser une version plus grande

 
Page «Introduction» |  Page «Où Aller» |  Page «Totalité sans Équivoque» |  C’est la page «Eclipse» |  Page «Carte Google» |  Page «Météo» |  Page «Durée Totalité» |  Page «Vérification Affirmations»
Sites d’observation —>  Oregon |  Idaho |  Wyoming |  Nebraska |  Illinois |  Autres États |  Vols Éclipse
Une éclipse en vol est une expérience à part entière. Si comme le 20 mars 2015 elle se passse dans la stratosphère à bord d’un jet privé alors c’est encore plus spécial.
Eclipse Totale Soleil 2015 Vol Stratosphérique Totalité Dassault Falcon 7X Cockpit Lune Ombre Aile Vue

La vidéo suivante vous montre ce que vous pouvez attendre de votre future expérience en vol si jamais j’organise un vol depuis la Côte Ouest afin d’avoir une altitude du Soleil compatible avec une observation à travers les hublots de l’avion.

Vidéo de Mike Kentrianakis sur le vol AS870 du 8 mars 2016 (détails dans le blog d’Alaska Airlines)

De multiples vols éclipse auront lieu le 21 août 2017, un de ces vols à visée scientifique aura des hublots zénithaux et accroîtra la durée maximum de totalité de 60%. En dehors des avions modifiés spécialement, un seul modèle d’avion privé peut accomplir cette observation grâce à son unique hublot zénithal: le tout nouveau Dassault Falcon 5X. A cause de la forte hauteur du Soleil lorsque l’ombre de la Lune traverse le continent américain, les avions commerciaux réguliers devront intercepter la bande soit au-dessus de l’Océan Pacifique depuis la Côte Ouest ou alors au nord-est des Antilles Françaises.

Simulation d’un vol éclipse à la durée maximum de totalité (réalisée avec mon logiciel Solar Eclipse Maestro)
L’utilisation de cette simulation sans mon autorisation écrite préalable est strictement interdite. Toute utilisation commerciale sera soumise à une compensation financière pour chaque vol effectué.

Sites d’observation —>  Oregon |  Idaho |  Wyoming |  Nebraska |  Illinois |  Autres États |  Vols Éclipse
Page «Introduction» |  Page «Où Aller» |  Page «Totalité sans Équivoque» |  C’est la page «Eclipse» |  Page «Carte Google» |  Page «Météo» |  Page «Durée Totalité» |  Page «Vérification Affirmations»

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 20 juillet 2010.
Plan du Site — Mentions Légales


Page Rank
Google


Livre Or Livre d’Or
Xavier M. Jubier