Home >  Eclipses >  Solar Eclipses > Total Solar Eclipse of 1999 August 11 Drapeau LangueFrançais
France Flag

 Total Solar Eclipse of 1999 August 11
 from Air France Concorde F-BVFC flight AF4500

Twenty-six years after the first Hall-of-Fame Concorde 001 record flight during the 1973 June 30 total solar eclipse, three other commercial Concorde were in the umbral path of this new eclipse. The first one, registered as F-BVFC, from Air France (AF4500) was affreted by the French Astronomy Association and two by British Airways (BA9099C G-BOAC, a.k.a. BA99S and BA9091C G-BOAA, a.k.a. BA91N). Concorde was the only civilian plane able to "chase" the eclipse because of its speed superior to Mach 2 and because the speed of the umbra was about Mach 2.3 over Europe. Thus the three Concorde managed to stay in the shadow for about 4 to more than 5 minutes (for AF4500). However, only the Air France Concorde passengers had the opportunity to view this eclipse from the cabin with a line-of-sight angle barely under 50 degrees during totality which didn’t facilitate the observations; the two British Airways Concorde passengers had an even worse line-of-sight angle at 60 degrees which made observations even more difficult through the tiny cabin windows and a totality duration under 4 minutes. Prof John Beckman, an astronomer at the Canary Astrophysical Institute in Tenerife and additionally participant to the historic Concorde 001 ‘73 eclipse flight, was one of the lucky ones, and even he wasn’t totally satisfied. He said: "Because of the small windows and the angle, you could never get your eye in the right position to see totality while the plane was in level flight. It was only when it did a few wiggles in the air that you could see totality. Luckily, I happened to be at the window on one of those occasions, so I saw about 10 seconds of totality. It was obviously disappointing and I’d hoped to see several minutes." Another BA91N passenger reports: "We all struggle to see anything, getting onto the floor and into strange contortions. The pilot had to bank the plane to allow a glimpse of totality - and we saw the solar corona for about half a minute!"
The photographies were taken from the Concorde cockpit on Air France flight AF4500. The simulation below, made with my Solar Eclipse Maestro software, refutes the claim that the passengers had over 8 minutes of totality as it was said in the documentary and advertized in most media. The same applies to the two British Airways flights that were operated by Goodwood Travel.
After the crash of the Concorde on 2000 July 25th, those three flights were the last to intercept the umbral shadow cone and the 1973 record with its mighty 73 minutes won’t be broken anytime soon, the 2001 June 21st flight having been cancelled.

You can use this solar eclipse calculator to compute the local circumstances of the eclipse. A time exposure calculator is there to help you choose your camera settings.

Concorde Air France Cockpit 1999 Total Solar Eclipse Vincent Coudé Foresto
Totality from the cockpit
(courtesy of Vincent Coudé du Foresto)
Page 1 |  This is page "Concorde" |  Page "Google Map"
Concorde Takeoff
Concorde takeoff

AF4500
Concorde flight AF4500

AF4500
Concorde flight AF4500 planning

AF4500 Flight Path
Concorde flight AF4500 path


Concorde Cockpit Crew
Concorde cockpit crew
(left: Eric Célérier; right: Jean Prunin)

Concorde Front Flight Panel
Concorde front flight panel


Earth View Concorde
Earth view from 20,000 meters

Concorde Flying Eclipse
Flying towards the eclipse

Umbra Right
Umbra on the right

Earth View Concorde
Earth from above


Panoramic view of the cockpit (QuickTime required)

Earth Concorde
Back to Earth

Postcard Concorde Total Solar Eclipse August 1999
Postcard of AF4500 Concorde F-BVFC 1999 August 11 Total Solar Eclipse Flight

Certificate Concorde Total Solar Eclipse August 1999
Certificate of AF4500 Concorde F-BVFC 1999 August 11 Total Solar Eclipse Flight
(the duration of totality was only 5 minutes and 10 seconds contrary to the indicated duration mentioned on the certificate, please read the explanation below)


Simulation, done with Solar Eclipse Maestro, of Air France Concorde F-BVFC flight during 1999 August 11 Total Solar Eclipse
[requires an H.264/MPEG-4 decoder: Windows users can install the Windows Essentials Codec Pack]

In this short documentary Jean Prunin, the Concorde’s captain, who prepared the eclipse flight plan claims they had 8 minutes and 10 seconds of totality. However, they only had slightly over 5 minutes and 10 seconds of totality as the above simulation clearly shows. What lasted 8 minutes and 10 seconds is the whole run on the map below that includes some of the partial phases (in dark blue) before and after totality (in red). The flight plan, which can be seen on two pictures above and on the figure below, was to start the interception at N4950.0 and W01300.0, end it at N5020.0 and W00900.0 (complete flight plan in Google Earth, description in French of the computations done by Jean Prunin which explain the small mistakes made).
A later intercept combined with a flight parallel to the umbra would have allowed a totality duration of nearly 6 minutes, and even more if flying at Mach 2 over Cape Lizard had been authorized.

Concorde 5 Minutes 12 Seconds Total Solar Eclipse August 1999

Rencontre avec une ombre - Encounter with a shadow (duration: 5 minutes 36 seconds)
[requires an H.264/MPEG-4 decoder: Windows users can install the Windows Essentials Codec Pack]

It is clear that British Airways flights have not reached the eight minutes of totality promised by the tour operator Goodwood Travel, which anyway was physically impossible.
Again these flights were badly planned and by people who do not have sufficient knowledge of the subject.


Simulation, done with Solar Eclipse Maestro, of the two British Airways Concorde G-BOAA and G-BOAC flights during 1999 August 11 Total Solar Eclipse
[requires an H.264/MPEG-4 decoder: Windows users can install the Windows Essentials Codec Pack]

Another eclipse flight at only 25,000 feet, using a pressurized turboprop Twin Commander airplane, took off from Bedford in Massachusetts to intercept the shadow cone shortly after sunrise.

Total Solar Eclipse August 1999 Flight Nova Scotia


This documentary, from Peter Ceravolo, tells a story of how Mitch Sayare, Dennis di Cicco and Peter Ceravolo planned and executed the flight to intercept the path of totality 300 miles off the coast of New England, south of Nova Scotia.

Page 1 |  This is page "Concorde" |  Page "Google Map"

Last page update on September 15, 2009.
Site Map — Legal Mentions


Page Rank
Google


Guest Book Guest Book
Xavier M. Jubier

Accueil >  Eclipses >  Eclipses de Soleil > Eclipse totale de Soleil du 11 août 1999 Language FlagEnglish
Drapeau France

 Eclipse totale de Soleil du 11 août 1999
 depuis le vol Concorde F-BVFC Air France AF4500

Vingt-six ans après le premier vol de tous les records avec le Concorde 001 lors de l’éclipse totale de Soleil du 30 juin 1973, trois autres Concorde commerciaux sont partis à la rencontre de cette nouvelle éclipse. Le premier, immatriculé F-BVFC, était affrêtté par Air France (AF4500) et les deux autres par British Airways (BA9099C G-BOAC, a.k.a. BA99S et BA9091C G-BOAA, a.k.a. BA91N). Le Concorde était le seul appareil civil capable de suivre l’éclipse grâce à sa vitesse supérieure à Mach 2 et au fait que l’ombre se déplaçait au-dessus de l’Europe à environ Mach 2,3. Les trois Concorde ont donc pu rester dans l’ombre de la Lune pendant 4 à plus de 5 minutes (pour le AF4500). Mais seul les passagers du vol Air France, affrété par l’Association Française d’Astronomie, ont eu la chance de pouvoir observer cette éclipse depuis la cabine avec un angle de vue légèrement inférieur à 50 degrés pendant la totalité; les passagers des deux vols British Airways avait un angle de vue d’environ 60 degrés rendant les observations très difficiles et une durée de totalité sous les 4 minutes. Le professeur John Beckman, un astronome travaillant à l’Institut d’Astrophysique des Canaries à Tenerife et accessoirement participant du vol éclipse 1973 historique à bord du Concorde 001, a été un des heureux passagers, mais même lui n’a pas été complètement satisfait. Il dit notamment: «Du fait des hublots étriqués et de l’angle de vision, il était impossible de vous positionner correctement pour observer la totalité lorsque l’avion volait à l’horizontale. La totalité n’était vraiment visible que quand l’avion s’inclinait. Heureusement je me suis trouvé au hublot lors d’une de ces occasions, et j’ai donc pu observer environ 10 secondes de totalité. C’était évidemment décevant ca j’avais espéré voir plusieures minutes.» Un autre passager du vol BA91N dit: «Nous avons tous eu beaucoup de mal pour voir quelque chose, même en se mettant par terre ou en enchainant d’étranges contorsions. Le pilote a dû incliner l’avion pour permettre d’entrapercevoir la totalité - et nous n’avons vu la coronne solaire que pendant environ trente secondes!»
Les quelques photographies ont été prises depuis le cockpit du Concorde sur le vol Air France AF4500. La simulation ci-dessous, réalisée avec mon logiciel Solar Eclipse Maestro, réfute le fait que les passagers aient pu obsever 8 minutes de totalité comme cela est affirmé dans le documentaire. La même chose est aussi vraie pour les deux vols British Airways opérés par Goodwood Travel.
Avec le crash du Concorde le 25 juillet 2000, ces trois vols ont été les derniers à intercepter le cône d’ombre et le record de plus de 73 minutes en 1973 ne sera pas battu de si tôt, le vol qui était prévu pour l’éclipse du 21 juin 2001 n’ayant pu avoir lieu.

Vous pouvez calculer les circonstances locales de cette éclipse à l’aide de cette calculatrice solaire. Avec la calculatrice pour les temps de pose vous pouvez aussi régler vos équipements photographiques.

Concorde Air France Cockpit Eclipse Totale Soleil 1999 Vincent Coudé Foresto
Totalité depuis le cockpit
(merci à Vincent Coudé du Foresto)
Page 1 |  C’est la page «Concorde» |  Page «Carte Google»
Décollage Concorde
Décollage du Concorde

AF4500
Vol Concorde AF4500

Préparation Vol AF4500
Préparation du vol Concorde AF4500

Route Vol AF4500
Route du vol Concorde AF4500


Equipage Concorde Cockpit
Equipage du Concorde
(à gauche: Eric Célérier; à droite: Jean Prunin)

Concorde Tableau Bord
Tableau de bord du Concorde


Vue Terre Concorde
Vue de la Terre depuis 20.000 mètres

Concorde Vol Eclipse
En vol vers l’éclipse

Ombre Droite
Ombre sur la droite

Vue Terre Concorde
La Terre vue d’en haut


Panoramique du poste de pilotage (Nécessite QuickTime)

Terre Concorde
Retour sur Terre

Carte Postale Concorde Eclipse Totale Soleil Août 1999
Carte postale du vol spécial AF4500 Concorde F-BVFC pour l’éclipse totale de Soleil du 11 août 1999

Certificat Concorde Eclipse Totale Soleil Août 1999
Certificat du vol spécial AF4500 Concorde F-BVFC pour l’éclipse totale de Soleil du 11 août 1999
(en réalité la durée de la totalité n’a été que de 5 minutes et 10 secondes contrairement à l’indication du certificat, merci de lire l’explication plus bas)


Simulation, réalisé avec Solar Eclipse Maestro, du vol d’observation Air France Concorde F-BVFC lors de l’éclipse totale de Soleil du 11 août 1999
[nécessite un codec H.264/MPEG-4: les utilisateurs de Windows peuvent installer le Windows Essentials Codec Pack]

Dans ce court documentaire Jean Prunin, le commandant de bord du Concorde, qui a préparé le plan de ce vol spécial éclipse prétend qu’ils ont bénéficié de 8 minutes et 10 secondes de totalité. Toutefois ils n’ont eu qu’un peu plus de 5 minutes et 10 secondes de totalité comme le montre la simulation ci-dessus. Ce qui a duré 8 minutes et 10 secondes c’est la trajectoire complète d’interception sur la carte ci-dessous qui inclus une partie des phases partielles (en bleu foncé) avant et après la totalité (en rouge). Le plan de vol, visible sur deux photos plus haut et sur l’image ci-dessous, avait un point d’entrée à N4950,0 et W01300,0 et un point de sortie à N5020,0 et W00900,0 (plan de vol complet dans Google Earth, description des calculs effectués par Jean Prunin qui permettent de comprendre ses petites erreurs).
Une interception plus tardive et en se déplaçant parallèlement à l’ombre aurait pu permettre d’approcher les 6 minutes de totalité, et même de les dépasser si il avait été possible de voler à Mach 2 au-dessus du Cap Lizard.

Concorde 5 Minutes 12 Secondes Eclipse Totale Soleil Août 1999

Rencontre avec une ombre (durée: 5 minutes 36 secondes)
[nécessite un codec H.264/MPEG-4: les utilisateurs de Windows peuvent installer le Windows Essentials Codec Pack]

Il est évident que les vols de British Airways n’ont pas non plus atteint les huit minutes de totalité promises par l’opérateur Goodwood Travel, ce qui de toute façon était matériellement impossible.
Encore une fois ces vols ont été mal planifiés et par des personnes qui ne maîtrisaient pas suffisamment le sujet.


Simulation, réalisé avec Solar Eclipse Maestro, des deux vols d’observation British Airways Concorde G-BOAA et G-BOAC lors de l’éclipse totale de Soleil du 11 août 1999
[nécessite un codec H.264/MPEG-4: les utilisateurs de Windows peuvent installer le Windows Essentials Codec Pack]

Un autre vol éclipse à seulement 25.000 pieds (7.620 mètres), utilisant un avion Twin Commander turbopropulseur pressurisé, a décollé de Bedford au Massachusetts pour intercepter le cône d’ombre après le lever du Soleil.

Eclipse Totale Soleil Août 1999 Vol Nouvelle-Ecosse


Ce documentaire, de Peter Ceravolo, raconte comment Mitch Sayare, Dennis di Cicco et Peter Ceravolo ont planifié et exécuté leur vol éclipse pour intercepter la bande de totalité à 300 miles (500 kilomètres) des côtes de la Nouvelle Angleterre, au sud de la Nouvelle-Ecosse.

Page 1 |  C’est la page «Concorde» |  Page «Carte Google»

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 15 septembre 2009.
Plan du Site — Mentions Légales


Page Rank
Google


Livre Or Livre d’Or
Xavier M. Jubier