Home > Transits Drapeau LangueFrançais

Transits (Mercury and Venus)

As seen from Earth, only transits of the inner planets Mercury and Venus are possible. A transit of Mercury can last for up to 8 hours, while a transit of Venus can slightly exceed 8 hours at its maximum.
The first observation of a transit of Mercury was registered in 1631 by the French astronomer Pierre Gassendi. Even though the telescope, necessary to observe the transits, was in use since until approximately 1610, no one observed the transits of 1615, 1618 and 1628, because their occurrence was not known. The release of new tables with more accurate positions of the planets (the Rudolphine Tables of Kepler in 1627) made possible the prediction and observation of the transit of Mercury in 1631. The first transit of Venus was observed in 1639 by the briton Jeremiah Horrocks. As it turns out, Kepler had predicted a transit of Venus for 1631. However, despite the efforts of Gassendi, the transit was not observed because it occurred during nighttime in France (this fact was obviously unknown to Gassendi because of the limited accuracy of Kepler’s tables). Kepler, however, did not predict a transit for 1639. It was Horrocks himself who, on October 1639, when comparing Kepler’s tables with the older and inaccurate tables of Lansberg, realized that the latter were predicting a possible transit of Venus on November of the same year. Horrocks confirmed the prediction with his own calculations but the short time available caused that the event was not widely announced. Thus, only Horrocks, his brother Jonas and his friend Crabtree were aware of the occurrence with enough anticipation. Both Horrocks and Crabtree observed the transit and took some measurements but it seems that Horrock’s brother never observed it.
Currently, the transits of Mercury are just a curiosity with almost no scientific interest. The same can be said of the transits of Venus. Among the few contributions that Mercury’s transits can make today is the study of Earth’s rotational velocity. When the circumstances of a transit observed in the past are known (i.e., contact times and observing site), one can eventually infer small variations of the length of the day along the centuries. The situation, however, was radically different up to the XIXth century. Until then, the transits of Venus, as suggested by Edmond Halley in 1716, had been used to attempt an accurate measure of the mean distance between the Earth and the Sun, namely the Astronomical Unit. Many scientific expeditions were organized to observe the transits of 1761, 1769, 1874 and 1882. But, in spite of all the efforts, several observational limitations, most notably the black drop effect, made impossible a sufficiently accurate determination of the Astronomical Unit through the method of the transits of Venus. During the second half of the XIXth century and along the XXth century, new methods were developed to determine the Earth-Sun distance, none of them implying the transit of Venus or Mercury across the Sun. The past strong scientific interest of these events was therefore lost. Currently, only phenomena derived from the transits such as the mentioned black drop effect are subject of observation and study. Shortly after the internal contact between the discs of the Sun and the planet (Mercury or Venus) something strange occurs. Instead of separating clearly from the solar limb, the disc of the planet seems to stick for a few seconds to the solar disc, and experiences a deformation in the appearance of a black drop. The same phenomenon repeats again just before the last internal contact. The effect of the black drop prevents an accurate registration of the times of contact between the disc of the planet and the Sun, and was the chief cause of the failure of the attempts to determine the Earth-Sun distance using Halley’s method. The main cause of the occurrence of this phenomenon is the turbulence of Earth’s atmosphere, albeit the solar disc being slightly darker at the edge than at its center (known as limb darkening) is also partly responsible. Here is a more complete explanation of the black drop effect.

Mercury Transits

Planetary transits are far more rare than eclipses of the Sun by the Moon. On average, there are 13 transits of Mercury each century. Nowadays, all transits of Mercury fall within several days of May 8 and November 10. During November transits, Mercury is near perihelion and exhibits a disk only 10 arc-seconds in diameter. By comparison, the planet is near aphelion during May transits and appears 12 arc-seconds across.

Monday, November 15, 1999
Wednesday, May 7, 2003 in France
Wednesday, November 8, 2006 in California, USA  
Monday, May 9, 2016 in the Atacama desert, Chile New

The next Mercury transits will occur at the following dates :
Monday, November 11, 2019 : 
Saturday, November 13, 2032 : 
Monday, November 7, 2039 : 
Friday, May 7, 2049 : 
Tuesday, November 9, 2052 : 
Wednesday, May 10, 2062 : 
Wednesday, November 11, 2065 : 


2003 May 7 Mercury transit time-lapse

To compute the local circumstances of a Mercury transit, a calculator is also available for your own use. A time exposure calculator is there to help you choose your camera settings.

Interactive Google Maps

Mercury Transit on Friday, November 7, 1631
Mercury Transit on Monday, November 15, 1999
Mercury Transit on Wednesday, May 7, 2003
Mercury Transit on Wednesday, November 8, 2006
Mercury Transit on Monday, May 9, 2016
Mercury Transit on Monday, November 11, 2019
Mercury Transit on Saturday, November 13, 2032
Mercury Transit on Monday, November 7, 2039
Mercury Transit on Friday, May 7, 2049
Mercury Transit on Friday, November 9, 2052
Mercury Transit on Wednesday, May 10, 2062
Mercury Transit on Wednesday, November 11, 2065

 

Venus Transits

A rare phenomenon occurred on 2004 June 8: the planet Venus was in transit in front of the Sun. No one alive in the XXth and XXIst centuries had ever seen a transit of Venus: the last transit was in 1882 and was only partially visible in Europe. The observation of the 1882 Venus transit was the most well-known instance to measure the distance between Earth and Sun, that distance being used as the base unit for distances between all heavenly bodies.

Tuesday, June 8, 2004 in France
Wednesday, June 6, 2012 from the Mauna Loa on the Big Island in Hawaii

The next Venus transits will occur at the following dates :
Saturday, December 11, 2117 : 
Saturday, December 8, 2125 : 


2004 June 8 Venus transit time-lapse (courtesy of NSO)

To compute the local circumstances of a Venus transit (2004, 2012 and 2117), a calculator is also available for your own use. A time exposure calculator is there to help you choose your camera settings.

Interactive Google Maps

Venus Transit on Saturday-Sunday, December 6-7, 1631
Venus Transit on Sunday, December 4, 1639
Venus Transit on Saturday, June 6, 1761
Venus Transit on Saturday, June 3, 1769
Venus Transit on Wednesday, December 9, 1874
Venus Transit on Wednesday, December 6, 1882
Venus Transit on Tuesday, June 8, 2004
Venus Transit on Tuesday-Wednesday, June 5-6, 2012
Venus Transit on Saturday, December 11, 2117
Venus Transit on Saturday, December 8, 2125

 

Software: Mercury Venus Transit Maestro

  Mercury Venus Transit Maestro Software Main Screen Preview

This application controls up to 4 USB, Firewire or Ethernet connected DSLR or CCD cameras during a Mercury or Venus transit, so that you can be free to concentrate on observing the event visually. This brief overview will let you know more.

Available

Requires: MacOS X 10.4.x (Tiger), 10.5.x (Leopard), 10.6.x (Snow Leopard), 10.7.x (Lion), 10.8.x (Mountain Lion), 10.9.x (Mavericks), 10.10.x (Yosemite) or 10.11.x (El Capitan)


Links :


If you got here through the Eclipse Web Ring, Welcome!

Logo WebRing This site is owned by
Next
 

Last page update on September 26, 2006.
Site Map — Legal Mentions


Page Rank
Google


Guest Book Guest Book
Xavier M. Jubier

Accueil > Passages Language FlagEnglish

Passages (de Mercure et de Vénus)

Vu depuis la Terre, seuls sont possibles les passages des planètes intérieures Mercure et Vénus. Un passage de Mercure peut durer jusqu’à 8 heures, tandis qu’un passage de Vénus peut légèrement dépasser 8 heures à son maximum.
La première observation d’un passage de Mercure a été effectué en 1631 par l’astronome français Pierre Gassendi. Même si le télescope, indispensable pour observer les passages, existait déjà depuis environ 1610, personne n’a observé les transits de 1615, 1618 et 1628, car leur existence n’était pas encore connue. L’existence de nouvelles tables donnant les positions des planètes avec une meilleure précision (Tables Rudolphines de Kepler en 1627) ont rendu possible la prévision et l’observation du passage de 1631. Le premier passage de Vénus fût observé en 1639 par le britannique Jeremiah Horrocks. Il s’avère que, Kepler avait calculé un passage de Vénus pour 1931, mais que malgré les efforts de Gassendi, ce passage ne fût jamais observé puisqu’il se produisit durant la nuit en France (manifestement ce fait n’était pas connu par Gassendi du fait de la précision limitée des tables de Kepler). Cependant, Kepler n’a pas réussi à prévoir le passage de 1639. C’est Horrocks qui, en octobre 1639, a lui-même réalisé en comparant les tables de Kepler avec les anciennes imprécises de Lansberg, que ces dernières prévoyaient un possible passage de Vénus en novembre de la même année. Horrocks confirma cette prévision avec ses propres calculs mais le manque de temps l’empêcha d’annoncer l’événement plus largement. C’est pourquoi, seuls Horrocks, son frère Jonas et son ami Crabtree connaissaient l’existence de l’événement avec assez d’anticipation. Horrocks et Crabtree ont observés le passage et effectués quelques mesures, mais il semble que le frère de Horrocks ne l’observa pas.
De nos jours, les passages de Mercure sont juste une curiosité sans pratiquement aucun intérêt scientifique. La même chose peut être dite pour les passages de Vénus. Parmi les quelques contributions que les passages de Mercure peuvent encore faire aujourd’hui on trouve l’étude de la vitesse de rotation de la Terre. Lorsque les circonstances d’un passage observé dans le passé sont connues (c’est-à-dire les instants de contact ainsi que la position du site d’observation), alors il devient possible de noter d’infimes variations de la longueur du jour au cours des siècles. Toutefois cette situation était radicalement différente jusqu’au XIXè siècle. Jusqu’à cette époque, les passages de Vénus, comme suggéré par Edmond Halley en 1716, ont été utilisés pour tenter de mesurer avec précision la distance moyenne entre la Terre et le Soleil, c’est-à-dire la valeur de l’Unité Astronomique. De nombreuses expéditions scientifiques ont été organisées pour observer les passages de 1761, 1769, 1874 et 1882. Mais, malgré tous ces efforts, plusieures limitations optiques, principalement le phénomène de la goutte noire, ont rendu impossible la détermination avec une précision suffisante de l’Unité Astronomique par cette méthode du passage de Vénus. Durant la seconde moitié du XIXè siècle et pendant le XXè, de nouvelles méthodes ont été développées pour déterminer cette distance Terre-Soleil, aucune ne nécessitant un passage Vénus ou de Mercure devant le Soleil. Le grand intérêt scientifique passé pour ces événements a donc disparu. Actuellement, le seul phénomène présentant encore un intérêt d’étude est celui de la goutte noire déjà mentionnée. Juste après le contact interne entre les disques du Soleil et de la planète (Mercure ou Vénus) une chose étrange se produit. Au lieu de se séparer distinctement du limbe solaire, le disque de la planète semble coller pour quelques secondes au disque solaire, et la déformation prend la forme d’une goutte noire. Le même phénomène se répète de nouveau juste avant le second contact interne. L’effect de la goutte noire empêche tout enregistrement précis des instants de contact entre le disque de la planète et le Soleil, et c’était la cause principale de l’échec des tentatives pour déterminer la distance Terre-Soleil en utilisant la méthode de Halley. La principale origine de ce phénomène est la turbulence atmosphérique, avec en plus le fait que le disque solaire est plus sombre à son bord qu’il ne l’est en son centre (connu comme l’assombrissement du limbe). Voici une explanation détaillée du phénomène de la goutte noire.

Transit de Mercure

Les transits planétaires sont beaucoup plus rares que les éclipses de Soleil par la Lune. Il y a en moyenne 13 passages de Mercure par siècle. De nos jours tous les passages de Mercure se produisent à quelques jours du 8 mai ou du 10 novembre. Lors du passage du mois de novembre, Mercure est proche de sa périhélie et a un diamètre de 10 secondes d’arc. Tandis que Mercure est proche de son aphélie lors du passage en mai et nous apparait alors avec un diamètre de 12 secondes d’arc.

Lundi 15 novembre 1999
Mercredi 7 mai 2003 en France
Mercredi 8 novembre 2006 en Californie aux États-Unis  
Lundi 9 mai 2016 dans le désert d’Atacama au Chili Nouveau

Les prochains transits de Mercure se produiront aux dates suivantes :
Lundi 11 novembre 2019 : 
Samedi 13 novembre 2032 : 
Lundi 7 novembre 2039 : 
Vendredi 7 mai 2049 : 
Mardi 9 novembre 2052 : 
Mercredi 10 mai 2062 : 
Mercredi 11 novembre 2065 : 


Séquence en accéléré du passage de Mercure du 7 mai 2003

Afin de calculer les circonstances locales d’un transit de Mercure, une calculatrice est mise à disposition. Avec la calculatrice pour les temps de pose vous pouvez aussi régler vos équipements photographiques.

Cartes Google interactives

Passage de Mercure du vendredi 7 novembre 1631
Passage de Mercure du lundi 15 novembre 1999
Passage de Mercure des mercredi 7 mai 2003
Passage de Mercure du mercredi 8 novembre 2006
Passage de Mercure du lundi 9 mai 2016
Passage de Mercure du lundi 11 novembre 2019
Passage de Mercure du samedi 13 novembre 2032
Passage de Mercure du lundi 7 novembre 2039
Passage de Mercure des vendredi 7 mai 2049
Passage de Mercure du mardi 9 novembre 2052
Passage de Mercure des mercredi 10 mai 2062
Passage de Mercure du mercredi 11 novembre 2065

 

Transits de Vénus

Le 8 juin 2004, un phénomène rare s’est produit: la planète Vénus est passée devant le Soleil. Phénomène rare, en effet, car aucune personne vivante aux XXè et XXIè siècles n’a pu connaitre un passage de la planète Vénus devant le Soleil: le précédent passage a eu lieu en 1882 et n’a été que partiellement visible en Europe. L’observation du passage de Vénus en 1882 a été l’occasion la plus célèbre pour mesurer la distance de la Terre au Soleil, distance qui se trouve être la clé et l’unité de mesure de toutes les autres distances des corps célestes.

Mardi 8 juin 2004 en France
Mercredi 6 juin 2012 depuis le Mauna Loa sur la Grande Île à Hawaii

Les prochains transits de Vénus se produiront aux dates suivantes :
Samedi 11 décembre 2117 : 
Samedi 8 décembre 2125 : 


Séquence en accéléré du passage de Vénus du 8 juin 2004 (aimablement du NSO)

Afin de calculer les circonstances locales d’un transit de Vénus (2004, 2012 et 2117), une calculatrice est mise à disposition. Avec la calculatrice pour les temps de pose vous pouvez aussi régler vos équipements photographiques.

Cartes Google interactives

Passage de Vénus du samedi-dimanche 6-7 décembre 1631
Passage de Vénus du dimanche 4 décembre 1639
Passage de Vénus du samedi 6 juin 1761
Passage de Vénus du samedi 3 juin 1769
Passage de Vénus du mercredi 9 décembre 1874
Passage de Vénus du mercredi 6 décembre 1882
Passage de Vénus du mardi 8 juin 2004
Passage de Vénus des mardi-mercredi 5-6 juin 2012
Passage de Vénus du samedi 11 décembre 2117
Passage de Vénus du samedi 8 décembre 2125

 

Logiciel: Mercury Venus Transit Maestro

  Ecran Principal Logiciel Mercury Venus Transit Maestro

Ce logiciel permet de contrôler jusqu’à 4 appareils photographiques numériques ou caméras CCD avec roue à filtres à travers une connexion USB, Firewire ou Ethernet durant un passage de Mercure ou Vénus afin de pouvoir l’observer librement. Cette présentation succinte vous permettra d’en savoir un peu plus.

Disponible

Prérequis: MacOS X 10.4.x (Tiger), 10.5.x (Leopard), 10.6.x (Snow Leopard), 10.7.x (Lion), 10.8.x (Mountain Lion), 10.9.x (Mavericks), 10.10.x (Yosemite) ou 10.11.x (El Capitan)


Liens :


Si vous êtes arrivé ici par l’Eclipse Web Ring, Bienvenue!

Logo WebRing Ce site est la propriété de
Next
 

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 26 septembre 2006.
Plan du Site — Mentions Légales


Page Rank
Google


Livre Or Livre d’Or
Xavier M. Jubier