Home > Solar Transits > 2016 Transit of Mercury Drapeau LangueFrançais

Spain Flag Morocco Flag Chile Flag 2016 May 9 Transit of Mercury

As seen from Earth, only transits of the inner planets Mercury and Venus are possible. Planetary transits are far more rare than eclipses of the Sun by the Moon. On average, there are 13 transits of Mercury each century. Nowadays, all transits of Mercury fall within several days of May 8 and November 10. During November transits, Mercury is near perihelion and exhibits a disk only 10 arc-seconds in diameter. By comparison, the planet is near aphelion during May transits and appears 12 arc-seconds across. However be aware that the planet Mercury is too small to be seen with the naked eye in front of the Sun. It’s therefore essential to magnify the image using a telescope or any appropriate device to detect the black ball pinned in the foreground of the photosphere of our star.

On the 2016 Transit of Mercury visibility map you can see that all the transit was visible from western Africa, the Canary Islands and northern Chile where the weather prospects are the best in May. This is why I finally observed once again from the Atacama desert in northern Chile. In about seven and a half hours time the planet Mercury crossed the solar disk from east to west. It was the first transit of Mercury since the previous one in November 2006 and was visible at least partially from Europe, Africa, the Americas and part of Asia. The next Mercury transit will occur in November 2019.
There were a few outreach initiatives to which occasional observers, students, teachers, could participate. For example the Mercury transit project. Do not hesitate to join those.

Find out if you were able to see Mercury during the May transit by using this Mercury transit calculator.


Page "Description" |  Page "Google Map" |  Page "Photos"
Visibility 2016 Transit Mercury
Global Visibility of 2016 Transit of Mercury

Mean Cloud Cover May 2016 Transit Mercury
Average cloud cover in May for the 2016 Transit of Mercury

From my tentative location in the Atacama desert, the Mercury transit is likely to start a couple of minutes before the Sun will rise above the two volcanoes to the east. Nevertheless it will be a breathtaking view to see Mercury in front of the Sun emerging between two marvelous volcanoes, Cerro Licancábur and Juriques.

May 2016 Transit Mercury Simulation Animation Atacama Desert Sunrise
Simulation of the Mercury transit at sunrise from my tentative location in the Atacama desert
[doesn’t play on all browsers: Firefox and Safari are fine, others usually don’t support APNGs so switch to GIFs]

Atacama Desert Moonrise April 2014
Real view of moonrise from my tentative location in the Atacama desert in April 2014

Study Terrain Elevation Profile Atacama Desert Sunrise
Study of the terrain elevation profile at sunrise from my tentative location in the Atacama desert

Page "Description" |  Page "Google Map" |  Page "Photos"

Last page update on April 10, 2016.
Site Map — Legal Mentions


Page Rank
Google


Guest Book Guest Book
Xavier M. Jubier

Accueil > Passages Solaires > Transit de Mercure 2016 Language FlagEnglish

Drapeau Espagne Drapeau Maroc Drapeau Chili Passage de Mercure du 9 mai 2016

Vu depuis la Terre, seul sont possibles les passages des planètes intérieures Mercure et Vénus. Les transits planétaires sont beaucoup plus rares que les éclipses de Soleil par la Lune. Il y a en moyenne 13 passages de Mercure par siècle. De nos jours tous les passages de Mercure se produisent à quelques jours du 8 mai ou du 10 novembre. Lors du passage du mois de novembre, Mercure est proche de sa périhélie et a un diamètre de 10 secondes d’arc. Tandis que Mercure est proche de son aphélie lors du passage en mai et nous apparait alors avec un diamètre de 12 secondes d’arc. Sachez cependant que la planète Mercure est trop petite pour être vue à l’œil nu devant le Soleil. Il est donc indispensable de grossir l’image à l’aide d’une lunette ou d’un télescope pour détecter sa bille noire épinglée en avant-plan de la photosphère de notre étoile.

La carte de visibilité du passage de Mercure en 2016 nous montre que le passage sera entièrement visible depuis l’Afrique de l’Ouest, les îles Canaries et le nord du Chili là où la météo est la plus favorable en mai. Au final je me suis rendu une nouvelle fois dans le désert de l’Atacama au nord du Chili pour son observation. En environ sept heures et demi la planète Mercure traversa le disque solaire d’est en ouest. C’était le premier passage de Mercure depuis le précédent en novembre 2006 et il était visible au moins partiellement depuis l’Europe, l’Afrique, les Amériques et une partie de l’Asie. Le prochain passage de Mercure aura lieu en novembre 2019.
Il existait quelques initiatives de vulgarisation et sensibilisation auxquelles les observateurs occasionnels, étudiants, professeurs, pouvaient participer. Comme par example le projet passage de Mercure ou encore celui de l’Institut de Mécanique Céleste et de Calcul des Ephémérides (IMCCE). N’hésitez pas à vous joindre à elles.

Pour savoir si vous étiez en mesure d’observer Mercure pendant le passage du mois de mai, utilisez cette calculatrice pour les transits de Mercure.


Page «Description» |  Page «Carte Google» |  Page «Photos»
Visibilité Passage Mercure 2016
Visibilité du passage 2016 de Mercure

Couverture Nuageuse Moyenne Mai Passage Mercure 2016
Couverture nuageuse moyenne en mai pour le passage 2016 de Mercure

Depuis mon lieu de prédilection dans le désert d’Atacama, le passage de Mercure aura probablement déjà débuté quelques minutes avant que le Soleil n’apparaisse au-dessus des deux volcans situés sur l’horizon est. Cependant ce sera quand même un spectacle remarquable que de voir Mercure devant le Soleil encadré par deux majestueux volcans, les Cerro Licancábur et Juriques.

Mai Passage Mercure 2016 Simulation Animation Desert Atacama Lever Soleil
Simulation du passage de Mercure au lever du Soleil depuis mon lieu de prédilection dans le désert d’Atacama
[ne fonctionne pas sur tous les navigateurs: aucun souci avec Firefox et Safari, les autres ne supportent généralement pas les APNG donc bascule en GIF]

Desert Atacama Lever Lune Acril 2014
Vue réelle du lever de Lune depuis mon lieu de prédilection dans le désert d’Atacama en avril 2014

Etude Profil Topographique Terrain Desert Atacama Lever Soleil
Etude du profil topographique du terrain au lever du Soleil depuis mon lieu de prédilection dans le désert d’Atacama

Page «Description» |  Page «Carte Google» |  Page «Photos»

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 10 avril 2016.
Plan du Site — Mentions Légales


Page Rank
Google


Livre Or Livre d’Or
Xavier M. Jubier