Home >  "Seven Summits" >  Muztagh Ata ascent Drapeau LangueFrançais

China Flag August 2007 Muztagh Ata ascent in China

This new project is now being carried out and a scouting trip will take place in August 2006.
The main goal is to reach in three weeks the summit of Muztagh Ata at 7,546 meters (24,757 ft) on the normal route from the west. This project is linked to the groundwork for the solar eclipse trips of 2008 February 7 on the Vinson summit in Antarctica and 2008 August 1st in the Chinese Gobi desert.
So sponsors are most welcomed. Thank you all in advance for your support and help.
The Muztagh Ata lies on the "Karakoram Highway", a piste that offers a precarious connection between Pakistan and western China. The nearest location of any importance is Kashgar (this is the name in the local Uygur language, the Chinese say Kashi), an oasis town between the high mountain range of the Pamirs and the Taklamakan desert (Taklamakan means "who goes into it does not come out of it any more"). Kashgar once used to be a part of the Silk Road, the route of the traders that connected the orient with the occident from the middle ages on. The Venetian explorer Marco Polo passed by Kashgar on his fabled journey to China. It is part of the Xinjian province, which was an independent state for a long time, but was annected by China very much in the same way as Tibet. From Kashgar it takes you a day’s ride to the Karakul lake, where you get your first sight of Muztagh Ata. The meaning of Muztagh Ata is "Father of all Icepeaks". However the story goes that the explorer who mapped the area for the first time asked a boy, what the name of the mountain was and the boy answered, "Muztagh, ata", meaning "Icepeak, father" (father being used out of respect for the elderly stranger).
Muztagh Ata is quite impressive. Standing all alone and not being part of chain of peaks and being much farther north than the Himalayas give it the reputation of being a cold mountain. The problems lie in coping with the high altitude, the cold and the weather. However, the ascent poses no major technical problems. To climb the mountain, you are obliged to obtain a climbing permit, pay a fee and use some services of the China Xinjiang Mountaineering Association (CXMA).
This page will be updated as needed.


Click on thumbnails for a larger version

This is page 1 |  Page "Ascent" |  Page "Google Map"
Climbing Routes West Muztagh Ata
Climbing routes from the west

Muztagh Ata Lake Karakul Karakoram Highway
Muztagh Ata and Lake Karakul along the "Karakoram Highway"


Normal Climbing Route West Muztagh Ata
Normal climbing route from the west

Muztagh Ata Karakoram Highway Road Access
Muztagh Ata
and Karakoram Highway road access

Muztagh Ata Sketch Kunlun Shan Massif
Muztagh Ata sketch
in the Kunlun Shan massif

Topographic Map Muztagh Ata
Topographic map of Muztagh Ata

Muztagh Ata Digital Terrain Model West
Muztagh Ata digital terrain model from the west

Muztagh Ata Digital Terrain Model North
Muztagh Ata digital terrain model from the north

This is page 1 |  Page "Ascent" |  Page "Google Map"

Last page update on May 10, 2006.
Site Map — Legal Mentions


Page Rank
Google


Guest Book Guest Book
Xavier M. Jubier

Accueil >  «Sept Sommets» >  Ascension du Mustagh Ata Language FlagEnglish

Drapeau Chine Ascension du Mustagh Ata au mois d’août 2007 en Chine

Ce nouveau projet est en cours de réalisation avec une première reconnaissance prévue en août 2006.
L’objectif est d’atteindre en trois semaines le sommet du Mustagh Ata à 7.546 mètres par la voie normale depuis l’ouest. Ce projet est mené en parallèle avec l’organisation des voyages pour les éclipses de soleil du 7 février 2008 en Antarctique au sommet du Vinson et du 1er août 2008 dans le désert du Gobi chinois.
Les sponsors sont donc les bienvenus. Par avance, merci à tous pour votre aide et soutien.
Le Mustagh Ata se situe sur la «route d’altitude de Karakoram», une piste périlleuse reliant le Pakistan et la Chine occidentale. La ville la plus proche est Kashgar (nom en langue locale d’Uygur, son nom chinois étant Kashi), une ville oasis entre les hautes chaînes de montagne du Pamir et le désert du Taklamakan (Taklamakan signifie «celui qui y entre n’en ressort plus»). Par le passé Kashgar était une étape sur la Route de la Soie, l’itinéraire emprunté par les commerçants et reliant l’orient à l’occident depuis des temps immémoriaux. L’explorateur vénitien Marco Polo est passé par Kashgar lors de son fabuleux voyage vers la Chine. Le Mustagh Ata est situé dans la province du Xinjiang, qui fut un état indépendant pendant longtemps, mais fut annexé par la Chine de façon similaire au Tibet. Il faut une journée pour atteindre le lac Karakul depuis Kashgar, et avoir votre première vue sur le Mustagh Ata. La signification de Mustagh Ata est «Père de toutes les montagnes glacées». Toutefois on raconte que l’explorateur qui a cartographié la zone pour la première fois a demandé à un garçon, quel était le nom de la montagne et le garçon répondu, «Mustagh, ata», signifiant "Montagne glacée, père" (père étant employé par respect pour le vieil étranger).
Le Mustagh Ata est majestueux. Il se tient isolé, ne faisant pas partie d’une chaîne de montagnes en étant beaucoup plus au nord que l’Himalaya, ce qui lui confère la réputation d’être une montagne glacée. Les problèmes se situent principalement dans l’adaptation à la haute altitude, le froid et la météo. Cependant, la montée ne pose aucun problème technique majeur. Pour gravir la montagne, vous devez obtenir un permis d’ascension, payer un droit d’entrée et utiliser certains services de l’Association Chinoise d’Alpinisme du Xinjiang (CXMA).
Cette page sera mise à jour en fonction des événements.


Cliquez sur les vignettes pour visualiser une version plus grande

C’est la page 1 |  Page «Ascension» |  Page «Carte Google»
Voies Ascension Ouest Mustagh Ata
Voies d’ascension par l’ouest

Mustagh Ata Lac Karakul Karakoram Highway
Mustagh Ata et lac Karakul le long de la «Karakoram Highway»


Mustagh Ata Voie Normale Ouest
Ascension voie normale par l’ouest

Accès Mustagh Ata Piste Karakoram Highway
Accès au Mustagh Ata
par la Karakoram Highway

Croquis Massif Kunlun Shan Mustagh Ata
Croquis du massif de Kunlun Shan
autour du Mustagh Ata

Carte Topographique Mustagh Ata
Carte topographique du Mustagh Ata

Modèle Numérique Terrain Mustagh Ata Ouest
Modèle numérique de terrain du Mustagh Ata depuis l’ouest

Modèle Numérique Terrain Mustagh Ata Nord
Modèle numérique de terrain du Mustagh Ata depuis le nord

C’est la page 1 |  Page «Ascension» |  Page «Carte Google»

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 10 mai 2006.
Plan du Site — Mentions Légales


Page Rank
Google


Livre Or Livre d’Or
Xavier M. Jubier