D810 failing during ramps

Support for the Solar Eclipse Maestro photography software.

D810 failing during ramps

Postby rqfugate » Tue Aug 15, 2017 4:59 am

Script was working perfectly running D700, D810, and D500 Friday and Saturday using 1.8.6v1. But today started having the D810 fail during either of two up/down ramps during totality. I have downloaded 1.8.6v2 but still the same behavior.
When I quit the program after the script completes I sometimes get the following in the console - this just a snippet at the end (I tried to attach a .txt of the whole console file but it was not permitted).

Aug 14 21:04:05 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: SIML +0.0s ISO 200 1/15 s f/6.3 RAW D810 24 shot rndtrip ramp to 1 sec (24 frames at 1.0 stop)
Aug 14 21:04:05 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: SIML +0.0s ISO 100 1/8 s f/5.6 RAW D500 26 shot rndtrip ramp to 2 sec (26 frames at 1.0 stop)
Aug 14 21:04:05 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: Camera #1: image/video added [0xFFFFFFFF-0x091F0935]
Aug 14 21:04:05 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: Camera #1: capture complete [0x0000033B]
Aug 14 21:04:05 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: Camera #2: image/video added [0xFFFFFFFF-0x0A1C6121]
Aug 14 21:04:05 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: Camera #2: capture complete [0x000003FB]
Aug 14 21:04:06 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: SIML +0.0s ISO 100 1/4 s f/5.6 RAW D500 26 shot rndtrip ramp to 2 sec (26 frames at 1.0 stop)
Aug 14 21:04:06 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: SIML +0.0s ISO 200 1/8 s f/6.3 RAW D810 24 shot rndtrip ramp to 1 sec (24 frames at 1.0 stop)
Aug 14 21:04:06 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: Camera #1: image/video added [0xFFFFFFFF-0x091F0936]
Aug 14 21:04:06 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: Camera #1: capture complete [0x00000341]
Aug 14 21:04:06 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: Camera #2: image/video added [0xFFFFFFFF-0x0A1C6122]
Aug 14 21:04:06 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: Camera #2: capture complete [0x00000402]
Aug 14 21:04:07 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: Camera #1: image/video added [0xFFFFFFFF-0x091F0937]
Aug 14 21:04:07 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: Camera #1: capture complete [0x00000345]
Aug 14 21:04:07 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: Camera #2: image/video added [0xFFFFFFFF-0x0A1C6123]
Aug 14 21:04:07 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: Camera #2: capture complete [0x00000408]
Aug 14 21:05:47 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: Camera thread #3 ended
Aug 14 21:05:47 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: Camera thread #4 ended
Aug 14 21:06:48 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Notice>: Shutter speed camera #2 not set to: 1/4s (line #119 - Undefined Response) at 03:06:48.4 UT
Aug 14 21:06:48 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Notice>: Error 'Undefined Response' while taking ramps up and down picture #10 on camera #2 'D810' (line #119)
Aug 14 21:06:48 Solar Eclipse Maestro[7448] <Info>: *** Stopped SEM 1.8.6v2 Intel ICC ***


In this case both cameras stopped firing. Most of the time I get no <Notice> message the program just quits and puts up the crash dialog to send to Apple.
"Undefined response" is the key message when it does report. I do not get Device Busy. Is this some sort of communication collision or error? If I run each camera alone in a D500 or D800 script no failures in half a dozen runs, but have not been successful in completing a run with both cameras in the script. I have purposely not given commands at the same time. I tried to attach the script and two console outputs one in which both cameras stopped and one in which the D810 stopped but the D500 completed, but .txt was not allowed. I am semi panicked and thinking about using only one camera. Any help appreciated. I haven't changed any hardware including cables.
Bob
rqfugate
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 10:16 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA

Re: D810 failing during ramps

Postby rqfugate » Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:36 pm

Xavier,

Here is the script for the D500 and D810 where the D810 fails. (Don't know how to make an attachment)

################# START D500 SCRIPT #############################


#set frame rate to 3FPS
SETCSSL,C2,-,00:24.5,D500, , ,3, , , , ,

#start live view photography
LVPSTART,C2,-,00:10.0,D500, , , , , , , ,Start photography in LV

# diamond ring 1 burst
TAKEBST,C2,-,00:07.5,D500,1/60,8,100,6,RAW,None,Y,6 shots diamond ring 1/60 /f8 iso 100

# baily's beads 1
TAKEBST,C2,-,00:04.8,D500,1/4000,8,100,20,RAW,None,Y,20 shots baily's beads


# prominences 1
TAKEBST,C2,+,00:03.5,D500,1/1000,8,100,9,RAW,None,Y,Burst of 9 pictures

# 2 D500 Ramps for Corona + 2 exposures for earthshine
RAMPSUD,C2,+,00:08.0,D500,1/1000,4,100,0.0,RAW,None,Y,12,1, 24 shot rndtrip ramp to 2 sec
TAKEPIC,MAX,-,00:10.2,D500,4,4,100,0.0,RAW,None,Y, Earthshine 1 4 sec iso100 f4
TAKEPIC,MAX,+,00:01.2,D500,8,4,100,0.0,RAW,None,Y, Earthshine 2 8 sec iso 200 f4
RAMPSUD,MAX,+,00:13.0,D500,1/2000,5.6,100,0.0,RAW,None,Y,13,1, 26 shot rndtrip ramp to 2 sec

SETCSSL,C3,-,00:18.5,D500, , ,5, , , , , reset frame rate up to 5 fps
TAKEBST,C3,-,00:18.0,D500,1/250,5.6,200,10,RAW,None,Y,Burst of 10 pictures mid corona


#prominences 2
TAKEBST,C3,-,00:07.0,D500,1/1000,8,100,9,RAW,None,Y,Burst of 9 pictures

#baily's beads 2
TAKEBST,C3,-,00:02.9,D500,1/4000,8,100,15,RAW,None,Y,15 shot burst baily's beads

#diamond ring 2 try a ramp after C3
RAMPDN,C3,+,00:04.0,D500,1/60,8,100,0.0,RAW,None,Y,8,1, 8 shot down ramp Diamond Ring

LVPSTOP,C3,+,00:15.0,D500, , , , , , , ,Stop photography in LV

#################### End D500 SCRIPT #####################


############### START D810 script ###################
# send all parameters
TAKEPIC,C2,-,00:30.0,D810,1/1000,6.3,64,0.5,RAW,None,N, resend all parameters


#set frame rate sequence to test for feedback
SETCSSL,C2,-,00:25.0,D810, , ,1, , , , ,
SETCSSL,C2,-,00:24.0,D810, , ,2, , , , ,
SETCSSL,C2,-,00:23.0,D810, , ,3, , , , ,
SETCSSL,C2,-,00:22.0,D810, , ,4, , , , ,
SETCSSL,C2,-,00:21.0,D810, , ,5, , , , ,
SETCSSL,C2,-,00:20.0,D810, , ,3, , , , ,

#start live view photography
LVPSTART,C2,-,00:09.5,D810, , , , , , , ,Start photography in LV

# diamond ring 1 burst
TAKEBST,C2,-,00:08.0,D810,1/60,6.3,64,6,RAW,None,Y,6 shots diamond ring 1/125 f8 iso 64

# baily's beads 1
TAKEBST,C2,-,00:05.0,D810,1/4000,6.3,64,15,RAW,None,Y,Burst of 15 pictures

# prominences 1
TAKEBST,C2,+,00:03.0,D810,1/1000,6.3,64,5,RAW,None,Y,Burst of 5 pictures


# 2 D810 Ramps for Corona + 2 exposures for earthshine + couple bursts
RAMPSUD,C2,+,00:07.0,D810,1/1000,6.3,200,0.0,RAW,None,Y,13,1, 26 shot rndtrip ramp to 4 sec
RAMPSUD,MAX,-,00:10.0,D810,1/2000,6.3,200,0.0,RAW,None,Y,12,1, 24 shot rndtrip ramp to 1 sec
###### note the script usually crashes during the second of these scripts ############################

#set frame rate to 5 FPS
SETCSSL,C3,-,00:18.5,D810, , ,5, , , , ,
######### note the script has crashed several times while trying to set CSSL to 5 ####################

# Mid corona burst
TAKEBST,C3,-,00:18.2,D810,1/250,5.6,200,12,RAW,None,Y,Burst of 15 shots mid corona

#prominences 2
TAKEBST,C3,-,00:07.2,D810,1/1000,8,100,7,RAW,None,Y,Burst of 9 pictures

#baily's beads 2
TAKEBST,C3,-,00:03.1,D810,1/4000,8,64,12,RAW,None,Y,15 shot burst baily's beads

#diamond ring 2 ramp after C3
RAMPDN,C3,+,00:04.4,D810,1/60,8,64,0.0,RAW,None,Y,8,1, 8 shot down ramp Diamond Ring

LVPSTOP,C3,+,00:16.0,D810, , , , , , , ,Stop photography in LV
#################### END D810 SCRIPT #####################

When I run each of these separately they work perfectly every time (at least 5 times). When I try to run the above script with both cameras the D810 fails each time - usually in a ramp - and once both the D810 and D500 stopped while trying to set CSSL to 5 on both cameras.
Also I notice when both cameras are running I never get a confirmation from the D810 that the frame rate has been reset. When I run the D810 alone, I get a confirmation in the console every time - see the sequence of SETCSSL at the beginning of the D810 script. I tried CHGCSSL but it behaves the same so I am assuming the commands are equivalent.

Am I being too aggressive with the D810 script - What is the best way to get a ramp of exposures without using RAMPSUD?

Thanks for any help. I will be on the road Thursday so will go with what works best by then.
Really appreciate all the effort you have put into this great piece of software. It is a great advancement for the solar eclipse community.

Bob
rqfugate
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 10:16 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA

Re: D810 failing during ramps

Postby xjubier » Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:56 pm

I don't know what to say, already in travel and with zero time. 1.8.6v2 works flawlessly for me with a D810, D500, 80D, Theta S, SBIG CCD cameras.
Check you cable length, power, etc.

The warning message on your first post is normal as you were quitting SEM and the camera being disconnected while in the middle of a ramp.
xjubier
Site Admin
 
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: France

Re: D810 failing during ramps

Postby rqfugate » Tue Aug 15, 2017 4:42 pm

OK, Thanks, Xavier.

Best of luck to you on the weather.

Bob
rqfugate
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 10:16 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA

Re: D810 failing during ramps

Postby jamesmilner » Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:11 pm

Good afternoon.
Thank you so much for interesting topic.
According to theme I want to provide you information about free plugins, presets and filtres. Link is below:
http://fixthephoto.com/blog/retouch-tip ... esets.html

Best wishes
James
jamesmilner
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:09 pm
Location: Ukraine?


Return to Solar Eclipse Maestro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron